Partial Pop Explosion lineup announced

Halifax Pop Explosion has released a partial lineup for this year’s festival and I gotta say, it’s not looking explosive — more like snap, crackle, pop. Sure, Joel Plaskett is good, but he plays there every weekend.

We are Wolves, Jon-rae the River and Great Lake Swimmers are also pretty good, but I’ve seen them all before and I’m not sure I want to get on a plane for a night of mediocre indie-pop.Past festivals have included headliners like Arcade Fire, Ted Leo, Yo La Tango and more local favourites like Sloan, North of America and Flashing Lights.

I know the scene’s grown in the 8 years that I’ve been gone, and some of those bands don’t really exist anymore, but that doesn’t make the current lineup and less lackluster.So, as it stands, I won’t be buying the get-you-in-anywhere Gold Pass just yet. However, this is only a “partial” list, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that that means some better acts will soon be added.

    Leave a Reply

